From Anik’s Kitchen: The Herbal Garden, 2012 Edition

herbgarden12_11.jpeg

It is no coincidence that most of my (now former) Ph.D. group – all of them without a proper job/scholarship, all of them already working more years than planned, stalled time and again – have taken up either cooking or gardening as a hobby: when your work is neither respected nor well-paid, nor recognized in the community because your supervisor doesn’t care about connecting you and instead considers you a personal punching bag, you end up feeling that what you do doesn’t matter.

And it makes you appreciate things that make sense – e.g. plants that grow and blossom in response to your care – and it makes you enjoy the satisfaction from doing something with your hands that is either pretty to look at or tastes great, or – in case of a herbal garden – both.

Planting herbs is one of my favorite things of the year and I love it when all summer long I can say “Hm, let me go get some fresh basil/arugula/parsley for dinner!” and all I need to do is open the balcony door and step out into a fragrant space where all is right with the world.

This year, I debated back and forth with myself whether I should plant or whether it would be more prudent to save the money without an income. In the end, the need for some green and growth won out and I managed to plant three flower boxes and various pots for less than €30.

The project started in April, with a few sprigs of peppermint (see above) that another Ph.D. colleague had given to me. I let the springs grow roots for nearly two weeks on the kitchen window sill…

herbgarden12_13.jpeg

…then I planted them outside with the support of unused wooden kebap skewers someone had thrown away (there was a whole package next to the trash bin!)…

herbgarden12_7.jpeg

…and that’s them, second from the right, all grown-up and smelling of mint juleps!

herbgarden12_5.jpeg

For 50cts, I bought a small, measly looking tomato plant, which has since grown to a meter of height, needing a new, much bigger flower pot (4,50€) and is continuing to grow – here it is on early May:

herbgarden12_9.jpeg

I also finally managed to grow my own arugula from seed. All you need is some planting earth (40 liters for 1,49€ at the DIY store, gardening section), a left over vegetable plastic container and a small bag of seeds (1,79€).

I admit I was skeptical, but two days after setting out the first batch of seeds, I found this on my window sill in the morning:herbgarden12_12.jpeg

I kept the small seedlings in the kitchen for a good two weks and then gently transferred them to a large bowl out on the balcony. Here they are still in their plastic container, adjusting to the air outside (the tomato is growing alongside, and there is Itlian flat-leaf parsely keeping them company that was sold at the grocer’s for 1,20€):

herbgarden12_14.jpeg

By now, the arugula has definitely reached salad stage:

herbgarden12_15.jpeg

Still (?) life with lounge chair:  a small, second tomato plant (1,99), a shy rosemary seedling which was a gift from another Ph.D. colleague, the jungle tomato, an organic cilantro (2,99€), flat-leaf parsely and arugula – looking at this always cheers me up and calms me down at the same time.

herbgarden12_16.jpeg

Mhmm, arugula (try on sandwiches with avocado, egg, bacon, chicken):

herbgarden12_19.jpeg

Cilantro, preparing for a date with a bed of lime rice inside a burrito sometime soon:

herbgarden12_18.jpeg

My first tomato blossom:

herbgarden12_17.jpeg

And the flower boxes, there are the usual suspects, all bought as small plants in the fruit section of the grocery store, with only the lavender and the thyme stemming from the DIY store (ranging between 99cts and 1,99€) —

Sage and Parsley (can you spell “carbonara”?):

herbgarden12_1.jpeg

Basil (key note in my new favorite no-cooking tomato sauce):

herbgarden12_2.jpeg

Chives (the eggs are already waiting to scramble…):

herbgarden12_6.jpeg

Thyme (at the moment, preferred with goat cheese and honey):

herbgarden12_8.jpeg

…I’m off to the kitchen. Tonight it’s pizza with caramelized onions and prosciutto and sage.

Anyone up for dinner?

11 thoughts on “From Anik’s Kitchen: The Herbal Garden, 2012 Edition”

  1. YesYesYes, thank You, but alas, no can do now! But you made me hungry… I’ll have to go and explore the contents of my fridge…

    Like

  2. really lovely greens Anik! (great admiration from someone who has zero skill raising plants (kids i’m ok with apparently, but plants are always a mystery)). I always think growing plants requires intuition. You remind me of my former officemate (now in Norway, i should pay him a visit for the next Romeo 🙂 ) who MUST have green in the office to keep it lively and always asked someone else to take care of them during travel after i killed off 2 “accidentally”.
    I’ve been sleeping on this question for a while actually: what sort of society are we in such that someone with your skill set is not in demand? Are we really in excess of people with critical thinking mindset in both social and physical sciences to justify the number of unemployed phd? In a way, i have a feeling the US offers more opportunity, i wonder why. Most (if not all) postdocs we have here (currently sitting in LA office) and at school are from abroad, though i can only speak for the physical sciences world…

    (ps- was too busy looking at greens until the dinner question! prosciutto + caramelized onions!!)
    (ps2- is that what you call chive? is it the same as this? Last year i and a friend spent 2 days looking for that unsuccessfully and we finally found 1 in an asian supermarket in Heidelberg (all the way from Munich!)

    Like

    1. being in the Humanities in a time of economic crisis is the obvious answer, which also leads to an overproduction of Ph.D.s since people who don’t get into the job market hibernate in a Ph.D. slot (but without the necessary passion and/or qualifications) though I think on a deeper level, it’s our late capitalist society being obessed with economic outcomes and with outsourcing all disciplines into an economic viewpoint: how much money can this bring how soon, and depending on that we prioritize. Critical thought (especially of the kind that would question this model of organizing knowledge/research) would be counterproductive.
      Most of the research projects I’ve seen go through in the past years throw around fancy (but hollow) terminology instead of actual qualifications and actual outlines. And yes, part of it is plying the application game, but in the past five years, it has just become ridiculous.
      And don’t get me started on acquiring funds – I haven’t been trained in independent thought for more than a decade to become a professional beggar. But once again, it is all about the economics…

      Like

      1. I work with a lot of people with Accounting degrees these days, and every time they ask me about school, they want to know only two things: when I will be done, and what it will get me. They seem to have a hard time absorbing the concepts of “Never” and a shrug.

        The concept of university as more than trade school seems equally challenging, not only for my accountant coworkers but also, unfortunately, for the present administration of the local uni.

        Like

  3. what lovely green fingers you have Anik. I love gardening, despite living most of my adult life without a garden. I don’t know if there’s a recycling centre near you, but at my local recycling I can pick up nearly all my gardening needs very very cheaply.

    Dr T – I believe what you were seeking are garlic chives, which I quite like in a quick omelette. Anybody else out there correct me if I’m wrong! 🙂

    Like

    1. yes, I think the difference is between chives (green, hollow tubes, a little sharp in taste) and garlic chives that I only know from East Asian cuisine.

      Like

  4. ah, that made for a peaceful, green respite in the midst of my wakeful evening! thank you Anik. i may not often post, but i always appreciate what you offer.

    Like

    1. This is unfair! Here I am, first in line for pizza with cherry tomatoes, arugula, goat’s cheese etc. and nothing has materialised – what’s going on in Anik’s kitchen?

      Like

      1. technical glitch – sorry about that. I mixed up the photos, so tonight it’s onions, ham and sage – tomatoes, goat cheese and arugula will be up tomorrow by lunchtime. Slice for you is reserved. 😉

        Like

Leave a comment